The Ten Ways by Malcolm Smith

Home / Music / Compositions / Piano / The Ten Ways

A series of compositions begun in 1997 describing the Peaks and Troughs of the human condition. Many are designed to be used as escape routes from a particular state when in danger. Life can't be perfect all the time. If you are ever unlucky enough to find yourself in a serious Trough (and it happens to the best of us), the best plan is to recall the wise words of Winston Churchill and get practising...

The Ten Ways
Title Instruments Status
The First Entrance To The Plateau of Love Piano duet Completed
The Second Ascent Of The Mountain of Will Piano Completed
The Third Path To The Tree of Knowledge Piano Unborn
The Fourth Way To The Plateau of Joy Piano, Shaker, Cowbell, Trumpet(s) Completed
The Fifth Rising From The Trough of Fatigue Piano & Flute (can be played on Piano solo) In Progress
The Sixth Leap Over The Chasm of Anger Piano In Progress
The Seventh Exit From The Trough of Logic Piano Completed
The Eighth Escape From The Trough of Perfume Piano Completed
The Ninth Voyage Over The Ocean of Passion Piano Unborn
The Final Arrival At The Land of Truth Piano Unborn

The first eight of the series should be learned and mastered in any order by the novice. Be warned though that they are not graded in levels of increasing difficulty; for example, The Second is intensely harder than The Fourth.

Practising The Fifth will help The Second.
Practising The Sixth will help The Fourth.
Practising The Seventh will help The Third.
Practising The Eighth will help The First.

When the second quartet (The Fifth to The Eighth) are mastered, then one should be fit to embark on The Ninth Voyage Over The Ocean Of Passion. When the first four are mastered, one may take on The Tenth. Both parts of The First should be practised so that one can, with two hands, play any combination of the left and right hands of the duet.

Once one can play all ten, one should teach them to another, beginning with The First as a duet.

[Scores and recordings will eventually be available]

© copyright Malcolm Smith 2002-08-22 - last updated 2010-11-14